Week in Review

Week in Review: Essential Oils, Dorie Greenspan’s Muffins, and Pug Detectives

One of my goals for 2017 is to write more regularly- to map out all the little things that got me through the day and into the weekend. I’ll be sharing an article I couldn’t stop thinking about, a product I love, a song I had on repeat, or a book that really stuck with me: tiny glimpses of what I’ve been up to and things you might enjoy as well!

IMG_20160416_141429.jpg

This week has been a total wash-out! While it’s totally wreaked havoc on my hair (hi, ultra frizz! so glad I spent time this morning on my blow-out!), the yard is really coming alive. We have a ton of fat robins, goldfinches, and cardinals starting to shack up. I think I had forgotten how nice it is to wake up to their chirping.

MAKE

While I do boring office stuff now, in my former life I worked as an art and literature professor. The benefit of doing boring office stuff is that I’ve got money for supplies and technically time to use them; the reality is that it’s a challenge to stay motivated after work (and find inspiration) instead of just crashing on the couch. Part of my goal for this year was to not give myself excuses for not doing things and to just  get on with it. For the most part, I’ve stuck with that and I’ve found ways to use longstanding office jokes as muses. This is probably the least serious work I’ve done in a long time and is totally just a goofy, fluffy side project:

IMG_20170318_203214_049.jpg

Backstory: at one point, we all misread a name as Loaf Johnson and started riffing on backstories before we settled on Pug Detective at the private firm Wilson, Wilson, and Willis. Naturally, they’re all dogs and all have their own personalities which I’m fiddling with in this team meeting scene. One part absurdity, one part kinda real life.

LISTEN

Midweek I went to a lecture on essential oils. I have a massive stock pile from when I was dead set on making soaps and lotions. Honestly, I’ve become a little disillusioned with the whole thing- the science is iffy, I can’t really get behind the internal use stuff, “therapeutic grade” is meaningless, and I really raise eyebrows at some of the usage suggestions I see floating around. That said, I do really dig aromatherapy if only because, hey, it smells nice. So I was interested to see some of the ways I could use up my giant cache of vials. Unfortunately, surprise! It was basically a tupperware sale for essential oils and supplements. What I “learned”: we can all stop taking important drugs like chemo and statins if we just use the right oil blend, all food is useless because our soil is depleted, and statistics and scientific research are meaningless! So, ultimately, after many tried and failed recipes promising miracles for lotions, face soaps, you name it…I’m still back to using my stash for aromatherapy and the occasional bar soap. My favorite blend: cypress, fir, and grapefruit. It’s my go-to for the office diffuser.

IMG_20160423_190852.jpg
diy jelly soaps

EAT

For this week’s breakfast, I made Dorie Greenspan’s Lemon Poppyseed muffins. These are firm and dense with just the right amount of lemon in the batter. I upped the lemon in the icing (because I love really citrusy lemon icing) and also upped the poppyseed by a tablespoon or so for some extra crunch. Next time, I might put the icing on warm so it sinks in and then some more when they’re cool for texture.

IMG_20170402_113827_854.jpg

This weekend should be super busy – we’re planning a front yard overhaul and hoping to add more edibles before I take on a new first: jury duty!

Leave a Reply

