About Town · Week in Review

Week in Review: Cabaret and Curls

One of my goals for 2017 is to write more regularly- to map out all the little things that got me through the day and into the weekend. I’ll be sharing an article I couldn’t stop thinking about, a product I love, a song I had on repeat, or a book that really stuck with me: tiny glimpses of what I’ve been up to and things you might enjoy as well!

SEE

IMG_20170315_190637.jpg

foxtheatre_spotlight.jpg
photo c/o The Fox

This week I met up with an old friend of mine at the Fox Theatre to see one of my favorites, Cabaret. The Fabulous Fox Theatre was built by William Fox in the midst of the roaring ’20s. It’s incredibly ornate and very indicative of the time period – described by the builders as the bizarre and great “Siamese Byzantine.” It ended up bankrupting William Fox and closed in the 70s but had a renaissance in the 1980s when it was re-opened and gained a new popularity. It has been completely restored to its original grandeur. The Fox frequently hosts broadway shows on tour (and other fun stuff like Steve Martin and his blues band) so it’s definitely worth a stop if you’re passing through town!

WATCH

So…I’ll admit. When people kept talking to me (and this is so late on the bandwagon) about The Great British Bake Off I thought it couldn’t possibly be that interesting or different from any other cooking show. Somehow, it is. And it’s addictive. And so British. And I find myself shouting at the TV about how anyone could not know what an Angel Food Cake is or how you could confuse salt for sugar. I’m halfway through season 2 and chugging right along. It’s perfect after a bad day at work when you just want something light and fluffy (vs. my usual go-to’s of British crime dramas and shows like Taboo!).

LOOK

Photo on 3-16-17 at 6.12 PM.jpg
the lighting in this house is terrible and thus…after sooo many photos, this is one is the best I’ve got!

I got a body wave! I have naturally thin, stick-straight hair and decided to take the plunge and get a perm. I have zero idea what I’m doing so I’m learning how to style it but somehow it magically needs less washing. I can now wash and dry at night, pass out, wake up and spritz it and it’s more or less done which I love. And if I do blow it out, it’s actually got volume. So far, so good!

EATS

IMG_20170305_175319.jpg

I’ve been trying to be really, really good about spending money on food so I’ve taken up making/taking breakfast and lunch into the office. After seriously sorting out where my money goes, I knew it wasn’t worth it for my wallet or my body to keep getting take-out with my cubemates. Most of what I’ve made is really good but totally not photo-worthy (that and the kitchen has horrendous lighting) but all-in-all I’ve made egg cups, a big tri-flavor egg casserole (swiss+ham+spinach, crab+pea+goat cheese, zuchini+parm), whole wheat blueberry muffins, and thai peanut / caprese spaghetti squash. I cannot wait until the farmers’ markets start opening up so I can really start experimenting with parfaits, smoothies, salads, and muffins!

Leave a Reply

