About Town · Week in Review

Week in Review: A Taste of Europe and Art in Bloom

One of my goals for 2017 is to write more regularly- to map out all the little things that got me through the day and into the weekend. I’ll be sharing an article I couldn’t stop thinking about, a product I love, a song I had on repeat, or a book that really stuck with me: tiny glimpses of what I’ve been up to and things you might enjoy as well!

SEE

Every year, the St. Louis Art Museum hosts a free show throughout the museum that matches floral arrangements with artworks. It acts as a showcase and a competition for local florists and I make a point of going every year.

IMG_20170226_162955.jpgIMG_20170226_163430.jpgIMG_20170226_164211.jpgIMG_20170226_155819.jpg

EAT

I finally made it Nathaniel Reid Bakery this week. It’s only recently opened and already has a 4.9 out of 5 in Google Reviews! I’m so, so glad it’s in the neighborhood! It’s a riff on traditional European bakeries with cases full of macarons, croissants, and quiches. Everything is made in house from scratch and it shows. We ended up getting the old standard: Quiche Lorraine. I don’t think I’ve ever had a quiche so smooth – like a true, light, melt-away custard. Not to be outshone by the quiche are the pastries. Mike got a pecan chocolate chip cookie (pecans were locally produced!) and a brownie (“This is the best brownie I’ve ever had,” – brownie connoisseur) and I had an apricot tart with a raspberry and chocolate mousse tea cake for later. Spectacular!IMG_20170304_163807.jpgIMG_20170304_151400.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

