Week in Review

Week in Review / Giving Back and Getting Out

One of my goals for 2017 is to write more regularly- to map out all the little things that got me through the day and into the weekend. I’ll be sharing an article I couldn’t stop thinking about, a product I love, a song I had on repeat, or a book that really stuck with me: tiny glimpses of what I’ve been up to and things you might enjoy as well!

This week, following the Women’s March I was still too sick to go to (again, still trying to devise a way to avoid this awkward backtracking time warp I’ve got going on), I decided I’d put up and not so much shut up. Marching is a one day event; giving and doing, a lifetime. And so, with so many things I value on the chopping block, I figured the least I could do is try to make an impact by giving to those with the skills and resources (like legal know-how) to act.

I don’t intend to make this blog a hugely political beast but I have no intentions of shying away from it either. I can’t stand it when someone says- with that total air of too-cool – “Oh, I just don’t talk politics.” Stand for something! Think!

Giving

Circling back to the original topic at hand. Look, I consider myself pretty well educated and decently privileged- I read a hell of a lot from just about everywhere, I’m from a long line of educators, and an even longer line of stubborn assholes, and on top of that I hold more degrees than are “useful.” But none of that means that I’m necessarily capable of fighting corporations or congressmen. Or singlehandedly saving PBS. But I can at least help. This week, I focused my wallet on a few key groups that I intend to support through this administration and I hope you do the same (support whatever you like- just get involved!):

  • Emily’s List: supporting pro-choice women in government
  • 314 Action: supporting STEM scientists in government
  • PBS: because I love a good English murder mystery and kids deserve quality educational programming
  • NPR: because I love Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me and witty programming (I swear, everybody else here just broadcasts dumb wet t-shirt contests and other eye-rolling content).
  • ACLU: for people less privileged than me
  • Planned Parenthood: because they’re for so much more than abortions
  • The Nature Conservancy: to protect wildlife, public land, conservation and ecology

Getting Out

polperro-Rockpool-outdoor-swimming-pool-Cormorant-News.jpg

Part of my goal this year is to travel more often. On average- and who knows how long I can keep this up- I take a trip abroad twice a year for a week to two weeks plus a miscellaneous trip or two in between. I’m trying to increase this with little weekend trips which I’m finding is way easier said than done! Even so, (and even while I’m trying to hit a savings goal), I’ve managed to book a trip! It’s been on my list for a long time to do Cornwall in England and I’m tagging a long-layover in Boston to start it off. I always pride myself on a two-for-one when I can manage it!

I’ll be in Boston in mid-May and then London before heading around the western tip of England for a week. I’ll be stopping in little towns along the way as well as a few gardens. I’m looking forward to beautiful beaches, little cottages, and lots of tiny art galleries. Fingers crossed for springtime blooms!

Songs

In anticipation of May and as a kick in the pants to get stuff done:

Photo: c/o Tessa Bunney / Cormorant Hotel Cornwall
Leave a Reply

