Week in Review

Week in Review / Women’s March, Feminist Threads, Lessons in Correspondence

One of my goals for 2017 is to write more regularly- to map out all the little things that got me through the day and into the weekend. I’ll be sharing an article I couldn’t stop thinking about, a product I love, a song I had on repeat, or a book that really stuck with me: tiny glimpses of what I’ve been up to and things you might enjoy as well!

Since I tend to blog this Sunday to Friday, I find my timelines get a little confusing. For most weeks, I can’t see how backtracking would matter. This week, however, we inaugurated a new president and many of us took to the streets as a sign of solidarity for people of color, women, the environment, education, national parks, STEM, health care, and a myriad of other things. Women’s March rallies were held world-wide with millionsĀ of participants (LA and DC each boasted around half a million and even my relatively small home town hosted upwards of 20,000. Hell, even a tiny Scottish island of 80 had a rally!) and, as it turns out, became more of a family event- an intergenerational, multi-ethnic, trans-religious, all-gendered and preferenced event for all people. And while I couldn’t march (I swear if I get sick one more time), my heart was warmed by the outpouring of support in my local and global community. Which brings me to….

Looks

One of my splurges last fall was this Karen Mabon designed shirt for BOB by Dawn O’Porter. I love the whimsical nature of Karen’s designs as much as I love the rebellious, tongue-in-cheek stance of Dawn’s lines. In lieu of marching, this is what I wore on 1/21. As an aside: I also threw down for Dawn/Karen’s Women are Boss dress after voting in the election. The equality collection is currently 25% off.IMG_20170121_142314_422.jpg

Work

I’ve been doing my best to stay on top of my Spanish game using DuoLingo. I’m now at 17% fluency and can, you know, talk to Spaniards about zapatos, abuelas, and cocinas with terrible verb tenses. But baby steps! I love being able to squeeze a lesson in during lunch and I like the game aspect of it. Oh, and did I mention it’s FREE?

unnamed.png

Reads

Mainly this week I read news pieces on the New York Times, LA Times, Guardian, BBC, WaPo and a handful of others. I also watched some of the downright atrocious, would-be-funny-if-it-wasn’t-real cabinet hearings (This Rick Perry piece is just so embarrassing- almost as much as the DeVos hearings. Ugh.). But I also made time to catch up on some non-fiction. Letters from a Lost Generation chronicles a set of friends during WWI and their frank letters to one another. The first two portions covers a romance between Vera Brittain and her friend turned fiance, Roland. Tragically, Vera loses nearly all of those closest to her in the machinations of the war but finds a cause to rally around after its end: peace. Many of the letters are striking in their language (they really put modern communications to shame) though some I’ve had a good laugh over. Take this passage from Roland to Vera which is just classically vague:

“…If my infant courage should fail me in the presence of your twenty-one years, know that I have at least thought all the most charming things you could yourself have wished expressed.” (pg. 43)

IMG_20170107_093037.jpg

Songs

One thought on “Week in Review / Women’s March, Feminist Threads, Lessons in Correspondence

Leave a Reply

